This window, illustrated above and colloquially referred to as the “Billups Window”, represents an architectural tradition in Mathews County, VA. Found on the pediment of several historic homes, it exemplifies the mission of Preservation Mathews, Inc.: “to save what we have from the past, to enrich the lives of the future.”
Since many structures do include this window, and the time period of construction is within the 19th century, master craftsman, Richard Billups name may still be incorrectly referenced regarding the official style of this window.
Between c.1780 and 1830 the federal style architecture, which often showcased geometrical concepts, became prominent. The elliptical, circular, and fan-shaped motifs formed by fluted radiating lines were common and an elliptical shaped lunette window centered above the pediment was often added to the architecture of a building.
Examples of this window include the following historic homes found in Mathews County, VA: A late ca.1840 Edwards Hall (Mathews Academy), ca. 1770 Milford, ca. 1838 Sutherland (Shadecliff), ca. 1824 Springdale, the Battery, ca. 1840 Lane Hotel/White Dog Inn, the 1835 Courthouse, ca. 1775 Poplar Grove, ca.1790 Palace Green, and ca. 1837 Hyco House. Spring Hill and Walnut Rest also had the window, but these houses have been razed. Woodstock has a similar window, but the mullions are different from the before named houses.
Preservation Mathews, Inc. P.O. Box 1007 Mathews, VA 23109